2020 Community Radio Awards Crowned

12th December (2020) saw the winners of the 2020 Community Radio Awards crowned. The event was held by means of virtual ceremony, like many events of the year, allowing more volunteers to attend from the comfort of their own homes.

The event was hosted Sam Day from Norwich community station Future Radio, with a variety of awards handed out in categories including Volunteer of the Year, Young Person of the Year, and Specialist Music Show of the Year.

Among the highlights included Bro Radio, winning the Gold award for station of the year, with Riverside Radio winning the equivalent award for Digital or RSL* Station of the Year.

The night was also a successful one for Andover Radio presenter Luis Wyatt, who picked up two awards over the course of the evening.

The full list of winners can be found on the Community Radio Awards website.

* RSL stands for restricted service license, an Ofcom license which permits a station to broadcast on FM or MW for normally up to 28 days. These services often operate for an event or a religious festival such as Ramadan.